Is lavender annual or perennial?

Lavender is a perennial herb in many areas - that is, perennial if it gets really good drainage. Growing in a pot is an ideal way to provide good drainage. However, if the potting mix is extremely fertile, the plant may grow leaves and stems rather than flowering.