Why are glasses called spectacles?

Glasses describe a pair of lenses set in a frame resting on the nose and ears used to correct or assist defective eyesight became common in the 1660s. The use of the word spectacles seems to have been adopted in the 18th century and comes from the Latin spectare, to observe or to look at