What does an amethyst do?

It is a natural tranquilizer: Amethyst relieves an individual from stress and strain, soothes irritability, balances mood swings, dispels anger, rage, fear and anxiety. Amethyst activates spiritual awareness: This precious stone has outstanding healing and cleansing powers.