What makes a dog's tail wag?

A circular or swishing wag means they're feeling good. Excited dogs wag their tails stiffly while they jump, spin, or stick up their rump. A short wag means they're unsure, a big wag is a friendly sign, a slow wag is a sign of anxiety, and a short, rapid wag means they're about to run or fight.