What is your appendix used for?

Currently there are 2 scientific theories in regards of usefulness of the appendix. Per one the appendix is just a useless remnant from our evolutionary past, while other theory is, that the appendix acts as a storage for good bacteria, to help reboot the digestive system after diarrheal illnesses.