What is fibroglandular density?

Scattered fibroglandular tissue refers to the density and composition of your breasts. A woman with scattered fibroglandular breast tissue has breasts made up mostly of nondense, fatty tissue with some areas of dense tissue. Breast tissue density is detected during a screening mammogram.