Tell me about the fourteenth president of the united states?

Franklin Pierce the 14th president of the U.S, & a Democrat. He alienated anti-slavery groups by supporting & signing the Kansas–Nebraska Act & enforcing the Fugitive Slave Act, yet he failed to stem conflict between North & South, setting the stage for the Civil War.