Who was bagger vance?

In the movie, "The Legend of Bagger Vance," Bagger Vance is a caddy who teaches Captain Rannulph Junuh, a disillusioned war veteran, the secret of the authentic golf stroke. The secret Bagger Vance teaches Junuh turns out to be the secret to mastering any challenge and to finding meaning in life.