What is refuting syndrome?

Refeeding syndrome can be defined as the potentially fatal shifts in fluids and electrolytes that may occur in malnourished patients receiving artificial refeeding (whether enterally or parenterally).These shifts result from hormonal and metabolic changes and may cause serious clinical complications