What's a sports hernia?

It tends to occur in sports that require sudden changes of direction or twisting movements. Although this may lead to a traditional, abdominal hernia, it is a different injury. A sports hernia is a strain or tear of any soft tissue (muscle, tendon, ligament) in the lower abdomen or groin area.