What's a sports hernia?

A sports hernia is a strain or tear of any soft tissue (muscle, tendon, ligament) in the lower abdomen or groin area. It most often occurs during sports that require sudden changes of direction or intense twisting movements.

---

It tends to occur in sports that require sudden changes of direction or twisting movements. Although this may lead to a traditional, abdominal hernia, it is a different injury. A sports hernia is a strain or tear of any soft tissue (muscle, tendon, ligament) in the lower abdomen or groin area.