How does a squirrel climb a tree?

Squirrels have versatile, sturdy claws for grasping and climbing. Tree squirrels can even descend a tree head-first by rotating their ankles 180 degrees, enabling the hind paws to point backward and grip the tree bark from the opposite direction.