What is fried green tomatoes movie about?

On one of Evelyn Couch's nursing home visits, she meets Mrs.Threadgoode, a old woman who brightens Evelyn's outlook by telling tales. As Ninny tells her of her sister-in-law Idgie, in a Alabama café in the 20s, and the bond Idgie had with Ruth, Evelyn gains confidence to change her life.