What's in the piano?

Pianos can have over 12,000 individual parts, supporting 6 functional features: keyboard, hammers, dampers, bridge, soundboard, and strings. Many parts of a piano are made of materials selected for strength & longevity. Player pianos, also have mechanical components to create the music.