How do you abbreviate example?

When you want to abbreviate expression “for example”, use:"e. g." (with dots and without spaces), which is an abbreviation for the Latin phrase "exempli gratia". When abbreviating expression “that is”, use:“i.e.” (with dots and without spaces), which is an abbreviation for the Latin phrase "id est".