How did schumacher's remains get to the moon?

Gene Shoemaker is considered the founding father of astrogeology, and NASA rewarded his years of work by sending his ashes to the moon. A vial carrying an ounce of Eugene Shoemaker’s ashes slammed into a moon crater at 3,800 mph, riding shotgun along NASA’s Lunar Prospector science craft.