How many ounces is a butternut squash?

The average squash weight at our market came in at 2 to 3 pounds. After you remove the peel and seeds the remaining edible portion will be 2 to 3 ounces less than the starting weight. A 3-pound squash yields 4½ cups uncooked 1-inch cubes, which is around 36 ounces.