Is black treacle the same as molasses?

Black treacle is a mixture of refiner's syrup and molasses. As a result, its flavour is similar to molasses but with a more rounded and softer taste. In general, the flavor profiles and textures are similar enough that you can substitute treacle and molasses for one another in most recipes.