Who is the most decorated athlete in olympic history?

American swimmer Michael Phelps is the most decorated Olympian, having won 28 medals in both individual and team events (23 gold, 3 silver, and 2 bronze). Has also won more individual events than any other Olympian, with 16 medals (13 gold, 2 silver, and 1 bronze).