How do i prepare fennel?

Cut the stalks crosswise in equal length slices. Use in soups or stews or as a bed for roasted chicken and meats. To slice the fennel bulb trim about a half inch off the bulb before cooking. Stand it on the root end and cut vertically into thin slices.

---

To soften the flavor of the fennel bulb, try braising, sautéing, roasting, or grilling it. Fennel stalks can take the place of celery in soups and stews, and can be used with roasted chicken and meats. Use fennel fronds as a garnish, or chop them and use as you would dill or parsley.