How do you know when a egg is done boiling?

Boiling eggs varies for soft boiled/hard boiled eggs. Soft boiled are harder to prepare. For soft boiled, boil water first, lower to a high simmer, add eggs and cook for 5-7 mins. For hard boiled, put eggs in a pot of cold water, bring to a boil, turn off heat,cover pan and let sit for 20 mins