What is the difference between peas and beans?

Peas are generally round while beans have a wider variety of shapes. Color also varies considerably with non-pea beans. Peas don't usually vary that much in color – they're mostly green. The stem of a pea plant is typically hollow, while beans have a solid stem structure.