How do you prune a plant?

Pruning a plant takes a good bit of practice. First, cut off any dead leaves and stems at their base and throw them away. Next, you must evaluate the plant and decide in which direction you want it to grow. Prune away branches on the "wrong" side and the plant will grow in the direction you wish.