Why are dragonflies called dragonflies?

In Romanian folklore the first dragonfly was St. George's horse, which was turned into a giant insect by the Devil. In Romanian, the word for dragonfly is "Devil's Horse" & the word for "devil" is "drac" so in English it became dragonfly.