Why are vampires afraid of garlic?

A popular theory of the origin of the vampire is the disease porphyria, a term for several diseases which are all caused by irregularities in the production of heme, a chemical in blood. People who suffer from porphyria have an intolerance to foods that have a high sulphur content, such as garlic.