How do you open a jar that is stuck?

To loosen a lid that is stuck, gently tap the rim of the lid with a wooden spoon, turning the jar around to tap in several spots. Keep repeating until the lid comes free. Another way is to heat the lid (in the stove) for a few seconds while rotating it. The metal lid will expand and will come free.

---

Try slapping the bottom of the jar with the palm of your hand to break the vacuum. Also try running the lid under hot water. Also try gently tapping the lid in the direction it should be turning with the handle of a knife or spoon.

---

Run hot running water over the lid and try again. It should open easily now.