Are water moccasins snakes venomous?

The Water Moccasin is North America's only venomous water snake and has a dangerous bite. Water moccasins rarely bite humans, however, and only attack when threatened.

---

A water moccasin, also known as a cottonmouth or black moccasin, is a venomous snake found in the southeastern United states.