What's a nimbus two thousand?

The Nimbus Two Thousand is the broomstick given to Harry Potter during Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, which he needs to play Quidditch for the Gryffindor team. At the time it is the best racing broom available in the wizarding world.