Do wild birds like apples?

Yes, the most common birds that will enjoy a nice apple are cardinals, sparrows, thrashers, tanagers, woodpeckers, bluebirds, blackbirds, orioles, robins, wrens, waxwings, lorikeets, starlings, crows, jays and fieldfares.