How long does it take to cook pea soup?

1 hour and 45 minutes typically to cook, but you need to soak the split peas over night. then combine the peas with your seasonings and ham in a pot, bring to boil and then simmer for an hour. Debone the ham, add your veggies and simmer for another 45 minutes or until the veggies are tender.