Why are sliders called sliders?

One common theory as to why they’re called sliders is the way that they’re slid across the griddle to make way for new patties. There is evidence that “slider” was a term used for a hamburger in the US Navy, as early as the 1940s or 1950s. The term “slider” meant a greasy burger that slid in easily.