What is a flak gun?

Flak is a contraction of German Flugabwehrkanone meaning "aircraft-defense cannon", the purpose of the 88mm projectile. "Flak" became a generic term for anti-aircraft fire which exploded at altitude, sending out a characteristic black cloud and jagged metal fragments that hit nearby aircraft.