Will vinegar get rid of rust?

Yes, vinegar will dissolve rust if you soak the item. Depending on how severe the rust is, let it soak for anywhere from 10-60 minutes. Some recommend adding salt to the vinegar soak, up to a cup per 1 gallon of white vinegar, or 1/2 cup per 1/2 gallon