Are bison and buffalo the same?

Though the terms are often used interchangeably, buffalo and bison are distinct animals. Cape buffalo and water buffalo are native to Africa and Asia. Bison are found in North America and Europe. Both bison and buffalo are in the bovidae family, but the two are not closely related.