What is the omega molecule?

The omega molecule is a fictional molecule introduced in Star Trek: Voyager, Season 4 episode 21: The Omega Directive. It is a highly symmetric molecule that could be used to produce energy. Unfortunately, it is highly unstable and can damage subspace thus making warp travel difficult or impossible.