Who is gruff mcgruff?

Gruff McGruff the Crime Dog is an animated bloodhound created by Dancer Fitzgerald Sample advertising executive Jack Keil, who also voiced the character, through the Ad Council and later the National Crime Prevention Council to increase crime awareness and personal safety in the United States.