Why do they call eggnog?

Eggnog is a term combination of two colonial slang words. Rum was referred to as "grog" and bartenders served it in small wooden mugs called "noggins". The drink first became known as egg-n-grog and later as eggnog.

---

The etymology of the word eggnog has old English origins, with “nog” meaning either a strong beer or a wooden cup. The word eggnog seems to derive from both these meanings with the presence of eggs and its strong, alcoholic ingredients.