What is the rockefeller christmas tree lighting?

New York City’s Rockefeller Center erects a Christmas tree annually in mid-November and the lighting ceremony occurs December 2, 2020 at 7pm EST

---

The tree is put into place mid November, & lit in a public ceremony on the Wednesday evening following Thanksgiving. Since 1997, it's been broadcast live on NBC's Christmas Rockefeller Center telecast. The tree lighting ceremony is aired at the end of every broadcast, following live entertainment.