How do you tell if a toad is a boy or a girl?

Female toads do not chirp or sing as males do and are bigger than males. Male toads in mating season develop dark, horny pads called nuptial pads on the bottoms of their forearms and forearm fingers. In some species of toads, such as the American Toad, males have darker throat coloring