How many states were in the civil war?

Per the U.S. National Park Service, during the Civil War, which was from 1861 to 1865, the union, or the North, had 20 states, with Abraham Lincoln as their president. The Confederacy, or the South, had 11 states, with Jefferson Davis as their President. And there were 5 border states in between.