Name a past tense verb?

A verb is a word in a sentence that expresses action. Definition of past tense: a verb tense expressing action in the past. Its expressive of elapsed time or occurring at a past time. E.G. 1) Now I cook; yesterday I COOKED (past tense of cook). 2) Now you eat; last night you ATE (past tense of eat).