Are the x-men part of marvel or d. c.?

In the comic books the X-men are part of the Marvel universe. The recent movie Dr. Strange and the multiverse of madness was the first cross over in which we saw both a member of the X-men and Fantastic 4 cross into the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).