What did andrew johnson get impeached for?

Without Congressional approval, Johnson replaced the Secretary of War, Edwin Stanton, before his term ended, with General Lorenzo Thomas. This was a violation of the Tenure of Office Act, passed by Congress in March 1867, & became the main reason for Johnson's impeachment.