When did the tsunami hit japan?

The Tohoku earthquake, measuring a magnitude 9.0, caused a massive tsunami that killed more than 19,000 people on March 11, 2011. The tsunami was 40 meters (133 feet) in height and traveled at a speed of 700 kilometers per hour (435 miles per hour).