Why is memory foam called memory foam?

Because of the visco-elastic manufacturing material, memory foam has a property of elasticity. ... Its usually said that when a pressure is applied on the memory foam surface, it has the “memory of the shape” of the pressure (either hand or any form)”, and thus it is called memory foam.