Who sings the song i hear you knocking but you can't come in?

New Orleans rhythm and blues singer Smiley Lewis first recorded the song in 1955. Notable covers of the song include recordings by diverse artists such as Gale Storm, Fats Domino, Connie Francis, Willie Nelson, and George Benson. A widely popular version was recorded by Dave Edmunds in 1970.