Why do we have a body?

The soul needs a vessel to hold it in place to complete its Earthly duties. When all the tasks have been completed the soul will leave the vessel and move on to the next stage of life. A soul cannot break its own vessel to escape its duties. It will just be cramed back into another vessel if it trys