How long did it take michelangelo to complete the sistine chapel?

The Sistine Chapel ceiling took Michelangelo 4 years to complete, however he returned 25 years later to start work on the fresco 'The last judgement' on the altar wall, which took a further 4 years. It was fully complete in 1541, 33 years after his brush first touched the chapel.