What are seventeen years acadias?

I think you mean 17 year cicadas. They are insects that spend most of their lives underground as larvae. Billions of them become adult at the same time and emerge in the summer at 17 year intervals. During their few weeks of adult life, their loud mating sounds drive everyone crazy.