What does the phrase happy as a clam mean?

The phrase started as the longer phrase “happy as a clam at high tide,” and was popularized in the early 19th century, particularly in the northeastern United States. Clams can only be readily dug up by humans when the tide is low; in high water, they're almost impossible to find.