How did the u. s. s. iowa sink?

No, the U.S.S. Iowa did not sink. It currently serves as a museum ship in the Port of Los Angeles.

---

On April nineteenth nineteen eighty nine the number two sixteen inch gun turret exploded. The explosion killed forty seven crewmembers and severely damaging the ship causing it to sink.